Friday Night Ritual (Laura)


My favorite day of the week has rolled around again…that’s right, it’s finally Friday and I couldn’t be happier!  I was fortunate enough to only have to work a half day, so I was free to do with this beautiful afternoon what I desired.  I had to run a few errands and was able to squeeze in some exercise strolling through the main street of a nearby town.  On my way home I stopped at a local farmer’s stand and picked-up some delicious-looking fresh peaches to use in the blackberry peach cobbler I was planning on making for desert tonight :­-).

Before I had adopted a healthier life-style, our Friday night routine was always to eat out at some restaurant, whether it was at a fast food establishment or chain fare.  It was something we did habitually every week – it served as a release and I used it as a way to unwind after a long work week.  As you can imagine, not only was it an unhealthy habit, it was a costly one too.

Since I’ve begun clean eating, I try to avoid going out to each as much.  I now like to reserve eating out for special occasions, so that it is truly a treat.  With my changed lifestyle, a new Friday night ritual emerged.  Friday night turned into the night that I experimented with new, interesting and fun recipes.  I can remember my first “clean” Friday – in sticking with my old family tradition of pizza Friday I made a delicious radicchio pizza on a home-made whole wheat crust.  It was quite an accomplishment for me, and I found cooking was something that I was really starting to enjoy.  Since then, I’ve tried to make Friday the day that I experiment with new recipes and different food that I’ve never tried before.

Well, tonight was no different as I engaged in my ritual once more.  In the September/October 2010 issue of Clean Eating Magazine, there was a recipe for Crab Nachos with toasted Cumin and Sour Cream.   They were super easy to make and great tasting!  It was a fun meal to eat with the hands and enjoy while watching my fav Friday night TV.

While I’ve made the Peach & Blackberry cobbler (September/October 2009) before, it was still a fun dish to enjoy tonight, especially with the local grown, fresh peaches that I just picked-up today.  Cobbler is one of those dishes that remind me of summer, so I was glad to savor the taste before summer completely fades to fall.

I’m looking forward to a little rest and relaxation the rest of evening with my satisfied tummy!  Well good night to all – remember – keep it clean!

Next up…training for my upcoming 5K!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

