It’s a French Kind of Day


10:30am and the Philly adventures continue! We slept in. Don’t judge us – we were on vacation 🙂

      

On a leisurely walk with Riley and Hilary to my car with the intent to move it to avoid a ticket, we, ironically enough, found a ticket placed lovingly on my windshield by the local traffic cop. Happy Saturday from the Philadelphia Parking Authority! Good thing we didn’t let it ruin our day. What’s $36 anyway? Yeah, we’re cool like that.      

Off to the creperie! A good crepe and a yummy latte will band-aid anything in my book. And if they won’t, please don’t let me encounter that wound.     

Why hello, Beau Monde. So happy to meet you.      

      

What a delicious way to start off the day.    

Smoked salmon crepe w/ leeks and creme fraiche.      

      

Enjoying time spent with my best friends and my best beverage…      

      

      

Then our lovely waitress, my new favorite person, delivered the requested goods.      

 

Hilary's banana and berry sauce crepe

 

Missy's mushroom, egg and goat cheese crepe

 

My smoked salmon, leek and creme fraiche crepe

 

 Hello heaven. Goodbye heaven. It’s been real.     

     

Off to do some really important things. You know. Change the word type things. Like shopping at Anthro and visiting a farmers’ market and patisserie. My life is hard. Well, it will be next week when I continue graduate school and two jobs, among other daily life responsibilities. I’m not complaining!     

Since I’m watching every penny due to my return to school, I just took in the sights at Anthro, as well as the other two stops.     

Anthro’s decor never ceases to amaze me…     

Can I please live here?     

     

     

     

I’m feeing inspired. How about you?
Next stop: Rittenhouse Farmers’ Market.

Ry and I waited for mommy and Aunt Missy prior to heading to the market

 

The flowers were breathtaking. Please enjoy.     

     

     

     

     

     

     

Local & fresh produce, baked goods and meats:    

    

     

    

     

    

     

    

     

    

     

    

     

    

     

    

My boyfriend’s obsessed w/ meat. Seriously – he eats a pound of steak every. single. night. He’s made attempts to eat grass fed & organic. That’s why we’re dating. Ehhhh – I suppose he has a few other good traits. Sorry that my cheap self didn’t purchase the meat, Migs.    

I hope you enjoyed the picture slide show of the farmers’ market. On to Miel Patisserie, where we quenched our thirst w/ a jasmine, green tea, peach nectar iced tea.    

     

    

     

My sister Missy’s real name is Melissa. Miel means honey in French. Melissa means honey bee. One year my mother was so obsessed w/ Missy’s name that every gift Missy received had a honey bee on it. Missy didn’t care for honey bees all that much. It was funny. I suppose you had to be there.    

    

     

    

     

    

     

   

    

We chatted some more. I think this serious conversation entailed contemplation regarding Sammie Sweetheart and Ronnie’s ultra-healthy relationship on the Jersey Shore. “She didn’t look dumb… she didn’t know he was making out w/ a new girl every night after he called her the b-word and went out clubbing.” I don’t know what’s more pathetic. Young women’s lack of respect for themselves (and having it splashed all over the media), or our lack of respect for our own intellect ;).  [Speaking of women’s lack of self respect & esteem… please visit two blogs that have certainly earned my support: www.operationbeautiful.com & http://facesofbeauty.org]   

     

    

     

Poor Riley Rooter was exhausted (as were we), so we walked to Hilary’s boyfriend’s apartment to drop him off to play with his brother, Toby, who you may have met here.    

     

    

     

    

     

    

     

    

     

Tober Lobes is a cutie pie. He requested that I show you all his happy self and his new haircut. You like?    

After we put Riley to rest, we went on our way to FINALLY find Brown Betty, a popular cupcakery in Philadelphia.    

Part deux coming soon. Au revoir mes amis!    

Clean kisses – xoxo – Natalie    

5 Comments

Filed under Philadelphia Eats

5 responses to “It’s a French Kind of Day

  1. Pingback: Simply Philly « simply fit. simply clean.

  2. Oooooo, I love crepes from that creperie!!! Wish they made GF ones… I’d totally go all the time. It is great to see Philly being profiled like that…it really is a wonderful city with so much to offer.

    • They were delicious! My sister just moved to Philly, so we’re learning all the wonderful places to eat and shop. I’ve always loved NYC, but I’m learning that Philly is a great city too! I love your blog. Consider me a new subscriber!

  3. Pingback: Simply Celebrate « simply fit. simply clean.

  4. Julie

    Natalie you need to get back to blogging as you and Hilary both have a gift with the written word and phototography.

    Missing you.

Leave a Reply

