Preparation.Preparation.Preparation. (Laura)


“I’m a big believer in the fact that life is about preparation, preparation, preparation.”

Johnnie Cochran

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day!   I was fortunate enough to have a long weekend, and was able to enjoy a nice Monday off!  My long weekend afforded me the opportunity to get my act together and really start focusing on training for my upcoming 5K!  Just a little background for you all – back in July a flyer had been circulating around my workplace for a race benefiting a local child who has an incurable disease.  I have never participated in a 5k before, and figured this would be a great opportunity to start.  Not only would it serve as a motivator to start working out again, it also was for a good cause – what a win-win situation!  So of course, I signed myself (and my husband) up for the race.

Well, somehow my summer schedule became much more hectic than I ever imagined.  My daily runs dwindled, and before I knew it, several weeks had passed and my training had completely stopped.  It’s now September and the event is only 2 weeks away!  Last week, I finally started training again.  I began by running 2 miles each day, and now I’ve bumped it up to 2.5 miles.  On Saturday, I’ll increase my distance to 3.1 miles, giving myself a week to practice for the actual race.

The most difficult aspect of training for me is simply getting started.  Today, I came home from work exhausted.  There was nothing I wanted more than to climb into my comfy clothes, relax on the couch and just have a night off.  I started my M.B.A. classes again last night, and the late night hit me like a ton of bricks today.  However, with the race just a week again, I knew I would have to push myself.  I got out the new pair of sneakers I just bought (my reward for training so hard ;-), grabbed my IPod and headed out the door.  As soon as my feet hit the pavement, I got into my training zone and suddenly my run wasn’t so bad.

My new kicks and IPod - all set for my run!

Some days, it’s realllllly hard to stay motivated.  Life has a funny way of catching up with you, with increasing demands from work, family, and the house (especially with my ongoing kitchen renovations!).  It would be much easier to just give in to temptation and have an easy night off.  However, I set a personal goal to run and complete this 5K.  I keep that goal close to my heart, and try to stay focused on it.  I know achieving this goal will be a great feeling, and I use that as a motivator to keep pushing myself forward.   I’m excited to update you as my week progresses, and can’t wait to cross that finish line on the 18th!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Preparation.Preparation.Preparation. (Laura)

  1. Wish I could do it with you, sis. You’re motivating me to get back out there and train for one as well!

Leave a Reply

