It’s the Simple Things


It’s 11:00pm and I’ve just finished sweeping my kitchen and living room floors for the third time today. After mopping both, I scraped up the remains of the Rottweiler hair and washed another sink full of dishes. I have my first hour of MSW field placement supervision bright and early tomorrow morning and I didn’t finish all my homework due for this week. Know what I’m thinking? stress It’s all just fine.

Because it’s the simple things in life.

Like spending a chilly, rainy, relaxing autumn Sunday morning with your best friend, learning the proper form of (and gaining a new appreciation for) yoga.

And coming home to a handsome guy with fresh coffee who says things like this to me on a daily basis:

And then meeting him again for lunch.

How about watching these two play until they’re so pooped that one is sprawled out on the floor and the other couldn’t manage the last few inches to the floor and parked it on the bottom step. Phew. It’s a rough life.

I must add enjoying farm fresh peaches while throwing together a simply delicious dinner to the list.

Baked sweet potato fries: sea salt, agave syrup, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice (to taste)

Black lentils: sauteed portobello mushrooms & red onion, with fresh mozzarella seasoned w/ cumin, sea salt and tossed with white balsamic vinegar

Let’s also add a polish change to the list.

And while doing homework, a simple pumpkin scented candle brightened the entire room.

My homework truly is simply wonderful as well, even though I tend to think otherwise. I’m fortunate to have the opportunity to pursue what I love and pour through articles and books that resonate with me.

And a welcomed interruption from my simply wonderful homework to read a kind comment from a simply fabulous new blog friend.

And all the while, remembering this quote on a shirt that I purchased today from the yoga studio:

Duly noted.

Remember: it’s the simple things.

8 Comments

Filed under Simply

8 responses to “It’s the Simple Things

  1. Your dog is too cute! Love your nail polish and I love that quote.

    Thanks again for stopping by my blog!

  2. Puppys are adorable 🙂

    Swept the floor 3 times!!???? I am lucky if I sweep my floor 3x a week, lol.

    I love your attitude about school, I would feel the same way…I do feel the same way every time I have the opportunity to learn!!

    • It’s all about keeping myself in check. I do love the material (most of it – you wouldn’t believe the boring article I read tonight about adolescent development), which keeps me intrigued. I work with women on a daily basis that do not have the opportunity, nor the funds to return to school so that’s a constant reminder to me to appreciate the opportunity. Now, if I could only figure out how to tackle my desire to learn more about health and fitness while I’m daydreaming about reading blogs in class!

  3. Aww your puppers are adorable!! The spices you put on your sweet potatoes fries make them sound perfect for a thanksgiving table. Great idea to sweeten them up even more 🙂

  4. I love this post – life IS all about the little things. I have to slow down and remember this many times throughout the course of the day when I get busy. Thanks for the reminder!

    • I hear ya! I was starting to stress out about a few little things and I had to put things back into perspective. I think I will be doing these posts regularly, as a reminder for us all! Thanks for commenting, Chelsey!

Leave a Reply

