It’s School Time!


I’ve grown to love Tuesdays. My Social Work Practice and Diversity & Oppression courses have officially earned my interest. I certainly didn’t think that I would be looking forward to my 12:05-8:45pm class day (commute time not included). So happy I’ve changed my tune :).

Though, one challenge I’m still attempting to master is the healthy snack balance. Boy can I appreciate all those healthy school lunches prepared for me while growing up (thanks Mom!). I have little time in my schedule now to plan meals and snacks, let alone cook/bake ahead, which is something I used to do on an almost daily basis. I’m looking forward to finding a healthy balance between school, work, my [brand new] internship, finding/applying/interviewing for new jobs, studying/homework, workouts (what are those?) and family and friends. Phew. Thank goodness I never wanted to have children young, or I’d have broken down and been institutionalized by my professors due to anxiety by now :).

Here’s a review of the snacks that have kept my belly full and my brain fueled to focus on learning about generalist practice, the quadrant model and white privilege. (There’s a test at the end…)

After a hearty breakfast, I get on the road around 11:00am to head to class. On my way to class last week, I snacked on roasted chickpeas and a locally made granola bar. By the time I got to school, it was 12:00ish, and I wasn’t done until close to 3:00pm.

Live in your car much, Nat?

After class I snacked on a fresh peach from a local farm on my way to the local mall where I do work while eating lunch. I hangout there until I leave to return to school to fight for a parking spot and hopefully make it to my evening class on time.

Hmmm. A little foreshadowing, perhaps?

Chipotle makes me happy. I typically order either the vegetarian bowl or vegetarian salad. Lately, I’ve been switching between the two. Below you will see the vegetarian bowl. Feast your eyes…

Made up of all kinds of goodness: romaine lettuce, black beans, mild salsa, grilled peppers and onions and guacamole. Y-U-M. After satisfying the hunger beast, I head to (you guessed it!) Starbucks to grab a coffee for class. One venti soy latte w/ one pump of pumpkin spice coming right up!

I needed that! This coffee is so filling; it lasts me through my 6:00-8:45pm class until I get home around 9:40pm. I then scrounge up a small snack (or finish my Chipotle if I’m famished) and head to bed to dream about what tomorrow will bring. Lately, I never know. Let’s hope it’s more blogging and less stressful changes that I’m attempting to take in stride.

Take in stride? You better believe my boyfriend and family just busted out laughing.

What are your healthy go-to snacks? I’d love to mix things up :).

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “It’s School Time!

  1. So happy you’ve posted! I’ve missed your voice 🙂

  2. Oooo…roasted chick peas…never had that before! Did you make them yourself?

    Fav snacks would be larabars, apples, mary gone crackers…I don’t eat a whole lot of snacks because 1) not many snacks are healthy w/o gluten and 2) my ‘diet’ is structured more around eating two big meals that really fill me up and sustain me without needing snacks to keep going.

    • How interesting! I don’t think I could last with two small meals a day. Did you have to train yourself to eat that way? I have to eat smaller meals throughout the day. Thanks for your feedback regarding your snacks! I’m going to buy some Mary’s Gone Crackers tonight. Love them w/ hummus.

  3. Yay, she’s back!! It looks like you’ve been super busy! Glad all is well;)

  4. Love it Nat! I’m surprised all you’re feeding your body at noon is chickpeas! What about a meal? Take some time for yourself and get back to packin!!

Leave a Reply

